The Christmas Table in Review.

It’s been a crazy week – as I am sure is the case for many of you readers. I’ve been running here and there, wrapping, shopping, cleaning, creating, unwrapping, celebrating, and cooking for a Christmas dinner with family. I needed an inexpensive centerpiece for my round Room and Board dining table. The vision started with my love of a rich red accent color at this time of year and a simple white vase from Ikea (which I’ve been using as a pen cup). I bought some red roses and some simple greenery on a grocery run to Wegmans. I found blue painters tape in the closet and tore small strips to create a grid on the top of the vase to hold stems evenly in place.

ikea vase and blue painters tape make a perfect set up for a floral arrangement.

I then trimmed the roses and greenery and started creating the casual yet elegant and festive centerpiece for my holiday table. A few bunches of Nandina berries from my small urban ‘yard’ added that glossy and smooth texture against pointy greens and velvety red roses.

A simple collection of planting from your own yard can work wonders for any simple and pleasing floral display.

I placed the finished centerpiece on my new Ralph Lauren Veranda paisley tablecloth (which I love love LOVE!). The tablecloth is a subtle paisley pattern in sand and white that is a beautiful neutral background for gold and silver accents. Plus, it only cost me $14 at Home Goods. I also got eight matching napkins for $10. Score! The antiqued mercury glass votives were finds from Target and the silver striped votives were finds at Michael’s. These can be used any time of the year for a touch of sparkle to your home.

Centerpiece in place.

I have eight mother of pearl and silver napkin rings that were a gift from a friend in 2002. It’s been years since I last used these and was glad to find them and display their beauty for each place setting.

Mother of pearl and silver napkins rings were a gift from a friends visit to the Philippines.

BTW, sorry for the yellowed images here – my white balance was off on my Nikon D60. Pffft.

To the table, I added my crystal Waterford goblets and wine glasses, Pottery Barn white dinner and salad plates, Crate & Barrel bamboo flatware, and rolled Ralph Lauren Veranda paisley dinner napkins. The Christmas tree as a backdrop made the room even more spectacular. Almost done!

In the final stretch.

It’s Christmas evening, we’re tuckered out, however, the guests are about to arrive, so we pour a bottle of a dry Chateau de Beaupre Rose from Coteaux D’Aix en Provence, light the tea lights, fill the water goblets, and get ready for the started course of a tomato cup salad – a specialty of ‘chef” Greg’s.

Greg pours a Rose we brought back from Aix in the Provence region of France.

The first course.

Dinner has begun, the table is absolutely gorgeous, and I’m in a great holiday mood! Next up, a delicious rib roast, Gruyère potato gratin, green bean lemon casserole, almond glazed onions, and good times! Fa la la la!

0 Responses to “The Christmas Table in Review.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just a Thought.

"A person should design the way he makes a living, around how he wishes to make a life" — Charlie Byrd

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,957 other followers

Need professional decorating help? Click on the MBD icon below.

Megan Blake Design
Facebook
Twitter

My Tweets.

Top Clicks

  • None

