Weatherproof Rooms.

To have a porch is divine. It’s surely good for the soul. Some homeowners take their porches for granted and use it as storage or a place to stash thrash. Not me. I would love love love to create an outdoor space at my home that can be used year-round.

These large opening panel doors are divine!

These large opening panel doors are divine!

The pinks and greens are upbeat and the furnishings add decorative details to a partially open outdoor space.

The pinks and greens are upbeat and the furnishings add decorative details to a partially open outdoor space.

In our mid-Atlantic East Coast climate, my ideal outdoor room would include a large fireplace, unique outdoor rugs, accent pillows, durable and comfy upholstered lounge chairs and sofas, recessed lights, lamps, candles, wireless speakers, mirrors, potted plants, and all the friends you can muster over.

My idea of simplicity. Very cool outdoor fireplace!

My idea of simplicity. Very cool outdoor fireplace!

It's black. It's white. And it's delightful. To die for views!

It's black. It's white. And it's delightful. To die for views!

SO updated. So fresh. So clean. Sign me up.

SO updated. So fresh. So clean. Sign me up.

A clean space that truly is both indoors and out.

A clean and pretty space that truly is both indoors and out.

This sloped ceiling sends natural light to the center of the room.

Love the brightness. This sloped ceiling sends natural light to the center of the room.

When the winds pick up late in the fall, just shut outdoor blinds, pull drapery closed, or roll-down clear panels to help keep the warm air in and cool drafts out.

Love the streamlines iron rod furnishings and cream paint colors.

Love the streamlines iron rod furnishings and cream paint colors.

I can see this simple and sweet porch on one of the cute Arlington Cape Cods or Bungalows.

I can see this simple and sweet porch on one of the cute Arlington Cape Cods or Bungalows.

It’s quite a luxury to be able to have a space like this but I am a diehard for blending indoors and out, so a retreat that mixes the best of both worlds sings my praises… t0 Mother Nature.

Take me to the mountain tops! What a treat this would be!

Take me to the hilly deserts! What a treat this would be!

A little bit of eastern asian influence and I'm OMing it all day and night.

A little bit of eastern asian influence and I'm OMing it all day and night.

This is an ideal design. I'll take the dogs too please.

This is an ideal design. I'll take the dogs too please.

Images used are from various magazines and online sources.

0 Responses to “Weatherproof Rooms.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just a Thought.

"A person should design the way he makes a living, around how he wishes to make a life" — Charlie Byrd

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,957 other followers

Need professional decorating help? Click on the MBD icon below.

Megan Blake Design
Facebook
Twitter

My Tweets.

Top Clicks

  • None

