Vintage Sunburst.

I just opened the Ballard catalogue featuring another round of Suzanne Kasler’s beautifully designed and very reasonably priced products for this catalog retailer. The first thing that caught my attention was the collection of Vintage Inspired Sunburst Mirrors.

Suzanne Kasler for Ballard Designs

I have to say, sunburst mirrors get a lot of attention and this desire for attractive mirrored wall art is not waning one burst. I’ve always loved them – especially since my first trip to a Paris flea market where I came across an original Sunburst mirror, considered it for purchase, then decided that shipping this sharp monstrous piece was not worth it! What a mistake! Luckily, manufacturers and designers are also fond of this classic decorative piece (Arteriors Home, Thomas Pheasant, Uttermost, Cooper Classic, etc) and will keep on creating newer versions for those of us who want a little sunshine in our lives. I recently paid a visit to Home Goods and scored a 22″ antique silver sunburst wall mirror and for the time being, placed it over my bed.

Silver vintage starburst

My Home Goods find!

I’m a fan of mixing metals so this looks terrific next to my burnished gold bed side tables. PS. The paint color is changing next week. Looks like my find was right on the money at just $24 buckaroos. Later that day I found this beauty on Bond & Bowery.

Beauty from Bond & Bowery

I love the rich gold and tiered effect, but for $700, I’ll stick with my Goods find.

0 Responses to “Vintage Sunburst.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just a Thought.

"A person should design the way he makes a living, around how he wishes to make a life" — Charlie Byrd

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,957 other followers

Need professional decorating help? Click on the MBD icon below.

Megan Blake Design
Facebook
Twitter

My Tweets.

Top Clicks

  • None

