DIY: Doll Baby Bed.

My niece is turning two this month. For her birthday (and her party last Sunday), I wanted to dust the cobwebs off of my crafty side and make a gift that was unique, girly, and age-appropriate. So I did. Out came the sewing machine, vintage fabric, paint, and some tender loving care from her Aunt Megs. And look what a little love built!

I started with a kids doll bed from Ikea.

I started with a DUKTIG kids doll bed from Ikea.

Then I selected=

Then I selected a color scheme to match her bedroom and some vintage pattern fabric.

Supplies were gathered and it was a GO!

Supplies were gathered and it was a GO!

Painting floral details on the headboard.

Painting floral details on the vanilla white lacquered headboard.

Add butterfly appliques, some pink ribbon, and final touches.

Add butterfly applique's, some pink ribbon, final paint touch ups and heat up the iron.

I wrapped the finished doll bed in pink cellophane, added a multicolor spiral bow, and brought it the party. She immediately ripped off that bow and continued to unwrap the surprise. Once she touched the green coverlet, she took off the rest of the wrap and climbed inside. =)

My niece unwraps her cellophane covered birthday gift.

My niece unwraps her cellophane covered birthday gift.

She loved it! Guess it's not just for baby dolls. =)

She loved it! Though it looks like the bed is not just for baby dolls. =)

1 Response to “DIY: Doll Baby Bed.”


  1. 1 donna 03/18/2010 at 11:20 pm

    just got one of these for my 2 yr old. her bday is in April and I was searching for some ideas…just love what you did with it!


Leave a Reply

Just a Thought.

"A person should design the way he makes a living, around how he wishes to make a life" — Charlie Byrd

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,957 other followers

Need professional decorating help? Click on the MBD icon below.

Megan Blake Design
Facebook
Twitter

My Tweets.

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Clicks

  • None

