Milan Furniture Fair. Futuristic.

I have yet to absorb and accept the fashion forward style of some European furniture designers. Blame it on reason that I like comfort. And I like textures. I like something reminiescent of my youth. And I like beatiful things. So don’t beat me over the head when I tell you this fact:

I am not a fan of what leaked out this years Milan Furniture Fair.

I happened across todays article in New York Times about how this years featured furniture and accessory designs were more paired, down, subdued with reinterpreted classics. Looking at the slideshow that accompanies the online post, I found the items to be a bit boring, erector set and Lego-looking, and almost as if they were part of a movie set. I’m not a known critic nor have I ever created a furniture line of my own (except for the wood and glue mini picnic bench as a ten year old and million and one cool forts). However, I do understand the change in this marketplace and the need for streamlining and more multi-use functionality in what we purchase these days – for the earths sake and our life savings sake. Yes, they’re interesting to look at but I find it easier to look away. DC Design Co.op wants to know… what do you all think?

Stool and Desk Set by Magis Design

Stool and Desk Set by Magis Design

$9,000 vases by Venini

$9,000 vases by Venini

Brave New World Lamp by Freshwest

Brave New World Lamp by Freshwest

0 Responses to “Milan Furniture Fair. Futuristic.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Just a Thought.

"A person should design the way he makes a living, around how he wishes to make a life" — Charlie Byrd

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,957 other followers

Need professional decorating help? Click on the MBD icon below.

Megan Blake Design
Facebook
Twitter

My Tweets.

Top Clicks

  • None

